Call for Papers

Joint symposium of Irish Mechanics Society

Swedish National Committee for Mechanics

Irish Society for Scientific & Engineering Computation

To honour the memory of Prof. K. Bertram Broberg

Mechanics of Materials: Perspectives and Recent Advances Wednesday 9th & Thursday 10th May 2007

Dear Colleague,

I am pleased to inform you that the Irish Mechanics Society, the Swedish National Committee for Mechanics, and the Irish Society for Scientific Engineering & Computation are hosting a joint symposium, "Mechanics of Materials: Perspectives and Recent Advances", to honour the memory of **Prof. K. Bertram Broberg**.

Confirmed invited speakers include Prof. James R. Rice and Prof. Grisha I. Barenblatt.

The symposium will take place over two days, Wednesday, May 9th and Thursday, May 10th 2007 in the Engineering Building of UCD's Belfield campus commencing at 9.15am. If you wish to give a 20 minute talk or present a poster paper at this symposium, please indicate your preference accordingly and forward a title and abstract of not more than 1 page (MS-Word format preferably) to me at

Michael.Gilchrist@ucd.ie

before Monday April 9th, 2007.

The Registration Fee will include morning and afternoon refreshments as well as light buffet lunches. There will be an informal dinner on the evening of Wednesday, May 9th in a local restaurant. Please bring this notice to the attention of any interested colleagues. I look forward to receiving your abstract in due course.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Gilchrist.

NAME:

CONTACT DETAILS:

I will attend the Symposium: YES/NO*

I offer a: TALK/POSTER*

I will attend the evening dinner: YES/NO*

(* Delete as applicable)

Registration Fee: €50 (PhD Students/Retired): €30

Evening Dinner: 650 (per person)

Total Due:

Please make cheque payable to "University College Dublin" and send to:

Professor Michael D. Gilchrist

School of Electrical, Electronic & Mechanical Engineering,
University College Dublin,
Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland.

Tel: +353-1-7161890
Fax: +353-1-2830534
E: michael.gilchrist@ucd.ie

Symposium Committee: M. Gilchrist (Chairman), M. Hayes, P. Lowenhielm, A. Lundstrom, S. Melin, A. Ottewill.